National Archives of the Netherlands (Ministry of Education, Culture and Science)

Mutual Cultural Heritage Programme

On 31 December 2012 the first Mutual Cultural Heritage Programme (MCH Programme 2009-2012) ended to be immediately succeeded by a second MCH Programme (2013-2016). The Programme, which is an initiative of and financed by the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, is aimed at maintaining mutual cultural heritage and making it accessible, and thus making the mutual past tangible.

Policy framework

The Ministry of Education, Culture and Science and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, have together drawn up a policy framework for the MCH Programme 2013-2016. This policy framework is intended to formulate the ambitions regarding MCH and to set down a structure for realizing these ambitions.


The Dutch government has defined Australia, Brazil, India, Indonesia, Japan, Russia, Sri Lanka, Surinam, the United States and South Africa as priority countries within the framework of the Mutual Cultural Heritage policy.

The Netherlands Cultural Heritage Agency, the Nationaal Archief and the Dutch Centre for International Cultural Cooperation (DCICC) are carrying out the Programme in cooperation with the priority countries and the Dutch embassies in these countries.

Project proposals

Proposals for Mutual Cultural Heritage-projects can be submitted with the Dutch Ambassy of the MCH-country in question.

Use the format for a MCH-project proposal and the criteria for receiving a project allowance.


Since May 2013, DCICC issues a digital newsletter on mutual cultural heritage. For subscribtion, please send an e-mail to DCICC.